Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Physics Nobel Prize Goes To Scientists Who Perfected LED Light.. photo

Two scientists in Japan and one at the University of California at Santa Barbara were awarded this year's Nobel Prize in physics for helping create the LED light.
The awarding committee said the trio's work is in keeping with the spirit of Alfred Nobel, the founder of the p.rize, because LED lights have ushered in a new energy- and environmentally-friendly light source.

Specifically, Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura were honored for inventing the blue light emitting diode.
Physics Nobel Prize Goes To Scientists Who Perfected LED LightRed and green diodes had been around. But when the three created the blue diodes in the early 1990s, "they triggered a fundamental transformation of lighting technology."
"They succeeded where everyone else failed," the committee said.
Nakamura is a scientist at University of California, Santa Barbara.
Last year's physics prize went jointly to Francois Englert of Belgium and Peter Higgs of the United Kingdom for the theory of how particles acquire mass. Their theoretical brilliance was borne out when researchers confirmed the existence in
 2012 of the Higgs boson, or "God particle."

The Nobel prizes in chemistry, literature and economic sciences will be announced later this week, as will the Nobel Peace Prize.
Each prize comes with 8 million Swedish kronor ($1.2 million).

No comments: